Is there a general offensive (aside from just being generally offensive) by spammers these few days?

Got this in the mail:

To: *******************
Subject: Registration Confirmation
From: “Net-Jokes”
Date: Tue, 21 Aug 2007 10:17:40 +0200
Dear Member,

Here is your membership info for Net-Jokes.

Confirmation Number: 1261877245
Temp Login ID: user1482
Temorary Password: rp871

Be Secure. Change your Login ID and Password.

Click here to enter our secure server: http://67.160.***.***/ (I’ve edited the link in case somebody clicked it by accident)

Welcome,
New Member Technical Support
Net-Jokes

Now, the thing is, I don’t remember signing up for this website (or about 3 others similar services!). I mean, I’m a funny enough guy, so I don’t really need the help (hah!) so this seemed more than a little suspicious to me. But the second clue would be their server address. If it’s a legit company or website, shouldn’t the website be something more recognisable? I mean, in the business world, you would want to be easily recognisable and remembered, right?

So doing a little rightous digging, I came up with this:

“If a user clicks on the link. The user will see a web page with one line:

“If you do not see the Secure Login Window please install our Secure Login Applet.”

This web page appears to attempt to exploit an older media player (WinAmp) exploit as well as attempting to trick the user into downloading a virus.”

- source: Internet Storm Centre

Now you know.

P.S. I’ve added a new category called “The Shit List”. It’s a list of all the e-mail addresses of idiots who’ve sent me spam, starting with the previous one. I’m putting this online so other spammers can pick it up and start spamming them as well.

:Links:
Internet Storm Centre
The Spam Diaries

The Shit List
rachael.ray@rosa.megahost.pl - Net-Jokes, virus site
ckrqzpmqizj6kfws_p9ikw@mfl.org - Web-Players, virus site
tracy8194@it.uc3m.es - Bar Tenders Guide, virus site
sood.rehman@phalplace.com - Web-Joker, virus site
gcgk@dummyup.com - Dog Lovers, virus site
khalidm44@yahoo.com.hk - Cancer scam
DERUGIN@abalmere.com - stock tip scam